2022 Reads in Review

Christian-ish reads of the year and why I liked them, in no particular order:

The Bible with and without Jesus by Amy-Jill Levine and Marc Brettler – This was my companion during Lent with another colleague

This Here Flesh by Cole Arthur Riley – like drinking a cool glass of water

Inward Apocalypse by Anna Elisabeth HowardAnna has a gift of finding a turn of phrase that pulls everything into focus. She packs theology neatly but densely through her own story which allows both for rich reading and reflection, the reader’s own Inward Apocalypse.

A Psalm for the Wild Built by Becky Chambers – a whimsical tale set in a different land of journey and vocation and call and belonging. 

My Body is Not a Prayer Request by Amy Kenny – Please, every church leader and person read this. It is so insightful on how to (and how not to) treat people with dignity and respect. 

Rest is Resistance by Tricia Hersey – Enough said. Deprogram. Rest. 

Falling Upward by Richard Rohr – Apparently I had read this once before but honestly had not remembered. I think it was more ready to hear it’s message this time as I approached 50. The book is all about the second half of life.

The Bible – I’ve never read the Bible all the way through. Now I have. 

Best Series I had never read: The Anne of Green Gables series

Series I’m Slightly Embarrassed I read: The Bridgerton series

Author I’m thrilled I discovered: Andy Weir (I read Project Hail Mary and Upgrade)

Best madcap novel about a mathematician (ok, only book I read about a mathematician): Dr. No

Best shocking novel exploring motherhood today: Nightbitch

Best Business book: Start with Why by Simon Sinek. Who Do we Choose to Be by Margaret Wheatley – this book keep me up for weeks, wrestling with both her pessimism and optimism over the human condition, state of the world, and ultimate invitation to act incredibly locally.

Best in History: the Sapiens Graphic Novels – there are supposed to ultimately be five of them. I was gifted the “real” book for Christmas. As someone whose education in history was a bit incomplete, I have been educating and re-educating myself over the past couple of decades. This is a great place to start poking around – https://www.ynharari.com/book/graphicnovelsapiens/)

Leave a comment